극대노 Frigidaire

극대노 means “extremely enraged” (extremely pissed off might work better here since 극대노 is slang). FYI, “극대노” was my state for about a week. All because of Frigidaire.

Our dishwasher stopped working on February 24. My husband and I tried all the troubleshooting tips on their website. No matter what we did, it wouldn’t turn on. It was weird, as our dishwasher was only two years old. I contacted our landlords the following Monday, who contacted the store that sold the unit. The dishwasher’s warranty had expired. I then tried booking an appointment through Frigidaire/Electrolux’s website. It kept freezing at check out. I ended up calling them. A few hours later, I got an appointment. The price was higher than the one listed on their website. Their agent said that must have been why the website wouldn’t let me through. Little had I known this was the first red flag.


Two days later, the technician came. I asked what was wrong with the dishwasher and if I could have avoided this. The answer was that electronics fail for many reasons, so there was nothing we could have done. He gave me a quote, and I shared it with my landlords. They hadn’t responded right away, so the technician had to leave. Thankfully, he told me he would come back that very day and fix it if I had my landlord’s permission within two hours. Thirty minutes later, I was told to go ahead with the repair. I relayed that decision to the technician. An issue resolved within a few days? Yay to that!


The technician returned that afternoon and told me there were some parts they didn’t have. Apparently, there was an error in their system, so it didn’t show their stock accurately. He would have to place an order, and I should contact customer service once the parts arrive. With an ETA of a week, “an error in the system” sounded so innocent. I should have been wary, but I didn’t know better.


On Monday, March 4, only after a few days, a package arrived. I contacted the service center. An agent told me only one part came and I would have to wait for the other part. Upon checking, they said the back order would take about a month or longer, so I should order it from a third-party supplier. When I contacted one, they said it would take about 10 days. It was still the better option, so I ordered it from them. Ten days later, on March 14, the parts arrived. I texted once again with an agent. The appointment was set for 3/18.

The next day, on Friday, March 15, I received an automated alert from Frigidaire: “The part(s) needed to repair your appliance for Work Order **** are delayed and will arrive after the scheduled service appointment. We are canceling the appointment for 03/18/2024. Once you receive all parts, please reply: 2 to Reschedule your appointment. Please call *** for further assistance.” I immediately pressed 2 and tried to reschedule for the same day, but the earliest option available was 3/22. I called. It was hard to get hold of an agent. I tried texting again. After I got a human agent, I had to explain over and over that I had ordered and received both parts, one from them and the other from a third party per one of their own agent’s recommendations. I was able to reinstate my appointment—or so I thought.


After six minutes, I received another notification that my appointment was canceled. I called this time. I was once again able to secure the appointment for 3/18. Friday afternoon, I got an automated text and call asking to confirm the appointment for that day. I received a similar robocall during the weekend. I confirmed every time I was prompted to do so.


On Monday, March 18, at 7:22 am, another automated reminder prompted me to confirm the appointment. I did. Forty minutes later, I got another cancelation for 3/19. I was puzzled, as I had not scheduled an appointment that day. I called. After waiting for 20 minutes, I texted again, trying to figure out whether my appointment was still happening. Let me tell you that the AI agent was always collecting my phone number, the product model number, the serial number, and my name every time for—get this—”faster service.”


Again, I texted. “Upon checking, your appointment is tomorrow, 8-12 pm,” was the response I received. The agent once again asked me whether I had both parts. This was my reply: “I repeat, I have communicated more than four times that I have ordered and already received the part in question through a third party per one of your agent’s recommendations. I have repeatedly asked your agents to reflect that on your record and to have my appointment. I do not understand where the confusion is coming from and am extremely frustrated. I do not understand why the appointment was switched from today to tomorrow either.”


The agent apologized. They checked again and told me that the appointment for that day was still in “accepted status,” so that the technician would come out. I wanted to be hopeful. What can I say? I believe in second— fifth in this case—chances. I should have been suspicious of the agent’s message. “If no one showed up, let us know that we can see other options. How does it sound? Or do you prefer to be rescheduled now?” It had been almost three weeks by then, and I had spent many hours doing the dishes or contacting the service department. I thanked the agent and “sincerely hope(d) for your system to reflect everything correctly.”

I was doubtful by then. I left a message to the technician directly and explained the situation, urging him not to cancel any appointments showing on his end. He said he can’t help much on his end, and that no appointment for my place was showing up either.
As you might have guessed by now, no one came that day. I texted the official line again at 12:07. The agent said, again, that the appointment was canceled due to a part not arriving on time. I was fuming by then. I demanded to know the reason our appointment was canceled. The agent said, “the technician cancelled it we don’t have any control why they cancelled it, rest assured this will[sic] won’t happen again.” The earliest available appointment was 3/20 by then. I wasn’t ready to let go that easily at that time. I kept asking how they can ensure it and asked for the technician to confirm via a separate text or phone call. The answer was “We don’t have option to do that, rest assured everything notated on your account.”

On Tuesday, March 19, I received another service alert that my appointment for 3/20 was being canceled. Was I living the movie Groundhog Day? I called this time. It was well after thirty minutes that I was able to get to a person. Imagine my fury. I tried hard not to yell at them, but I honestly don’t know how successful I was. The agent kept saying “rest assured.” It must be in their training materials. But what do the empty comforting words even mean by then? These words enraged me even more. The agent repeatedly reassured me that everything was “notated.” It was weary. I just wanted my dishwasher to be fixed. By that time, at least two adjectives for Frigidaire (the kind that alliterates with it) kept popping up in my brain. To my credit, I did not say it out loud, but I sure was thinking it.

Today is Friday, and I began writing this blog post on Tuesday evening. It was unclear whether the service appointment would be canceled again. Thankfully, the technician came on Wednesday. The dishwasher finally got fixed. Hurrah!

As for my state of mind? It is much better, thank you very much. In retrospect, I realize that I shouldn’t have let this disturb me too much. Still, I don’t think I will ever buy a Frigidaire after this.

댓글 남기기